PDA

View Full Version : Some finishing tips please

Mike Binder
07-30-2010, 12:36 PM
Hello All,

I have been on this site for quite some time now, but this is my first post. I am almost finished with a sewing table for my wife and was wondering what the best finishing would be for it? I am fairly new to making furniture so this project has taken me alot longer then most of you probably. It is made completely with red oak. I look foward to hearing what you all have for me. Thanks. :confused:

Scott Holmes
07-30-2010, 1:29 PM
You will want to use a hard varnish not a tough varnish. Polyurethane is tough but not very hard. Waterlox Original or Behlen's Rock Hard Table Top varnish would be good choices as would Pratt & Lambert #38. (less color in the P&L)

Filling the grain on the top will most likely score some points for you with the seamstress.

johanes purnama
07-30-2010, 6:00 PM
Oak wood has a nice grain and pores.
With proper finish you can make a nice product.
Many finishing models can be used for this wood with very good result.

Bill Davis
07-30-2010, 6:22 PM
Not a quick answer to your question but one that will serve you for a long time to come in your woodworking is to get Bob Flexner's book Understanding Wood Finishing. He is also soon out with a new book Flexer on Finishing (http://blogs.popularwoodworking.com/editorsblog/The+Advance+Copy+Of+Flexner+On+Finishing+Im+Very+P leased.aspx?utm_source=feedburner&utm_medium=feed&utm_campaign=Feed%3A+PopularWoodworking+%28Popular +Woodworking%29&utm_content=Google+Reader). He has super useful information on most all finishes and techniques. I'd rate it a must have. Wish I'd had it when I started woodworking.

Chris Friesen
07-30-2010, 8:06 PM
Some good suggestions already. If you decide not to fill the grain, I'd suggest that you thin the first coat substantially otherwise it may tend to bridge the pores rather than sink into them.

Mike Binder
07-31-2010, 8:21 AM