PDA

View Full Version : New Grizzly G0636X! Which Accessories?

Jim Kirkpatrick
07-27-2010, 1:24 PM
I just pulled th trigger on a new 17" bandsaw (http://www.grizzly.com/products/17-Ultimate-Bandsaw/G0636X). I wanted to take advantage of the Grizzly Summer Sale and Microsoft cashback which ends 7/31. Arrives tomorrow. Question is: What accessories should I get?

It makes sense to get a mobile base for it. After all, it weighs 700 lbs. But will the base make it rack back and forth?

What blades should I get? Grizzly sells Timberwolf blades which I have no experience with but hear good things about them on this forum. I want to use primarily for a resawing machine so what width is best? (Range is 1/8"-1 3/8", length is 162")
Also, I was thinking of getting a general purpose blade for scrolling and what not. Should I get a 3/8" blade too or would I be better off keeping my 14" Delta and dedicating it to that purpose?

Bill LaPointe
07-27-2010, 1:34 PM
Bought Timberwolf from Suffolk Machinery for my 20" saw. They suggested the 1" 3tpi for resaw and the 3/8" 6tpi for general useage. Buy 3 total blades and get 1 free. You have ta ask for the free one. My blades cut great!

John Stan
07-27-2010, 2:11 PM
Hi - I used the great lake castors and bought a variety of blades ranging from a 1 inch Lenox trimetal down to a 1/8 inch timberwolf.

-John

Bret Leishman
07-30-2010, 2:04 AM