PDA

View Full Version : Driftmaster fence on Aggazani?

Mike Gottlieb
07-24-2010, 12:49 PM
I am thinking of putting a Laguna Driftmaster fence on an Aggazani B20 bandsaw. Has anyone done this? Procedures and/or problems?

Eiji Fuller
07-24-2010, 1:36 PM
Mike,

I think the DM would be a great upgrade for that saw. I know a guy who put one on his Agi 24 so it should work great.

Richard McComas
07-24-2010, 2:12 PM
I put a DM on my B 24. Work out great and I really like the fence. I did put the hand wheel on the right side (facing the machine) other wise the door would hit the the wheel.

http://i119.photobucket.com/albums/o159/rmccomas0043/AGIB24DM.jpg

ian maybury
07-24-2010, 6:14 PM
To raise a related question about the Driftmaster - bearing in mind that I have no serious resawing experience, but am headed that way.

Some users suggest cutting veneers etc from the side of the piece of timber that's against the rip fence. i.e. with the blade stepped away from the fence by the thickness of the required slice. The disadvantage is presumably that face that has just been sawn rests against the fence for the next cut.

The DM makes possible taking the cut from the outside face of the piece, while keeping the other accurately flattened face against the fence - and moving it over exactly the same amount to do the same the next time ad infinitum.

The DM is nice, and looks like it could add some consistency - but given the above does it fill a real need? (it's not cheap)

Are there clear pros and cons to the two methods?

ian

Thomas S Stockton
07-24-2010, 8:22 PM
I always set the fence and cut the veneers. I think that cutting and then moving the fence would introduce some problems no matter how accurate a fence is. Putting a freshly sawn face against the fence isn't a problem and if it gets out of whack I will joint it.