PDA

View Full Version : Attempted Finial

David DeCristoforo
07-23-2010, 7:13 PM
This is my first attempt at turning a finial. I told myself when I got into this that I was not going to mess with these. But the temptation is too strong. I'm getting weeeeeak... helllllp meeee...

This is pretty "clunky" but since it's my first try and I'm working with "standard sized" lathe tools (I'm really gonna need some of those little ones...) I'm cutting myself a bit of slack.

Definitely going to need something in between those two... Assuming that the vase survives the next step!

Maria Alvarado
07-23-2010, 7:26 PM
Nice attempt David,
Might I suggest a possible fix would be to part out the "tenon"-like straight portion that joins the lid and have that graceful curving part below the bead flow into the lid. I think the rest is quite nice.

David DeCristoforo
07-23-2010, 7:30 PM
"...possible fix would be to part out the "tenon"-like straight portion..."

That's what I was thinking too. But I might just try a few more "just for fun" and see if I can't refine things a bit...

Bernie Weishapl
07-23-2010, 7:55 PM
Great first finial. I to would cut the tenon down to the curve portion so it would flow with the piece.

John Hart
07-23-2010, 8:26 PM
Hmmmm...I don't know if I would say "clunky". It does need some refinement....but even so, it seems "baroque" in comparison to its vase, which seems a more refined and gentle form. Victorian maybe?

David E Keller
07-23-2010, 9:12 PM
Nice job on the details but the finial seems a bit 'stiff' to me. The vase is so long and graceful that I think you need to find a way to reflect that in the finial. Finials are hard for me... I'd just have Steve or John make one.

David Christopher
07-23-2010, 9:18 PM
David, Ive been gone for awhile, I didnt know you were turning...but it looks good to me

George Morris
07-23-2010, 9:37 PM