PDA

View Full Version : Lathe recommendation (Woodtek?)

Joe Melton
12-06-2004, 3:02 PM
Hello, I'm a new member, and this is my first post, though I've read much of the archives with considerable interest. I've been turning pens for a couple of months, and now want to try something different. Toward that end, I think a larger lathe is in order.
A friend has offered me his like-new Woodtek 12" for $600. He paid about $1200 for it new. I can't seem to find any comments on this lathe, other than those from the dealer.
Another option is a Powermatic Model 45, 40 years old, that is for sale locally for $1000.
I think I would be turning mostly bowls, with some vases and candlesticks.
A thousand dollars is quite near the upper end on what I want to spend.
Any advice is gratefully appreciated.
Joe in Colorado Springs

Gary Max
12-06-2004, 3:45 PM
Welcome to the Creek. I would of loved to found the Woodtek when I was shopping for Lathes. I looked at their new ones and they where out of reach of my wallet.
So for my money I would buy the Woodtek.

Joe Melton
12-07-2004, 7:13 PM
I thought list members would be pretty opinionated about lathes. Does anyone else have knowledge of Woodtek lathes? They recently came out with a larger lathe that is pricey, but the one I am considering is more basic and has just a 3/4 hp motor.

Joe

Bill Grumbine
12-07-2004, 9:37 PM
Hi Joe

I have been turning for almost 12 years now, and have turned on a lot, a WHOLE lot of lathes in my own shop and in the shops of others, from the newest on the market to an old Blount from the early 1900s, and even an old treadle lathe from the early 1800s! In all those shops and all those lathes, I have never come across a Woodtek in real life. I have seen the pictures, and I have seen the prices, and I have read the claims, but these things just aren't around my neck-o-the-woods. I do not know why that is, but turners just don't seem to go to that lathe when they are looking for a new machine.