PDA

View Full Version : Questions On Vectorization

Joe Young
12-06-2004, 2:12 PM
Aloha From Hawaii,
Mele Kalikimaka(that's Merry Christmas in hawaiian) to all. My name is Joe Young and this is my first time posting a message.
I purchased an Explorer 30W about a month ago. My question is about raster-to-vector conversion. Right now I'm trying to scan a scroll saw pattern to vector cut. I bought Engravelab Scan program from LaserBits and cannot get it to work properly. Rather than explaining my problems can someone tell me the steps for conversion. I use a HP 5300 scanner.
Does the image need to be scanned with certain settings? Does the image need to be a certain type, jpg, tiff, etc. Or does someone know of another program that works well and is compatible with Coreldraw 12?
I did convert a scanned image for vectorization and realized that it is alot of work for just a simple image and decided to look for a program to make my like easier. Maybe I should have come to this forum first before I spent my money buying Engravelab.
Also, if anyone has experience in converting scroll saw patterns I would greatly appreciate knowing how. The programs I have are Coreldraw 12, Photoshop Elements, ACDSee, Photograv.
Mahalo(thank you) to all for your help.

Tyler Howell
12-06-2004, 5:32 PM
Welcome Joe!

You Star Wars wood chippers are always welcome in the Creek. Especially when we come to visit your shop in January:p . You are hanging with the best here at SMC. Glad to have you.;)

James Stokes
12-06-2004, 8:41 PM
I allways scan at 300dpi usually as greyscale.
Corel trace works pretty good for tracing images. It just takes practice tweaking the settings to get a decent trace.

Rodne Gold
12-06-2004, 11:20 PM