PDA

View Full Version : O1 versus A2

Richard Gillespie
07-20-2010, 2:41 PM
Did a search but must not have phrased it correctly. What are the strengths and draw backs on each heat treatment when it comes to blades for planes and maybe chisels?

Jeff Hamilton Jr.
07-20-2010, 2:48 PM
In Mr. Hock's new book, "The Perfect Edge," he does a great job of describing the difference between the two steels. In simple terms (bcz I'm no expert!) The O1 or "oil-cooled" steel is finer and thus able to reach a sharper edge as a result.

The A2 "air-cooled (or quenched -- see, told you I wasn't an expert!:eek:) is more durable but has more chromium particles (I believe) so it will not take as fine an edge.

The question is, how much do you use the blade in question? I have a set of Lie Nielsen's chisels and have gotten them pretty sharp (for me). They are A2.

I own one of Mr. Hock's replacement blades for a Stanley #6 in O1 and it gets even sharper, I believe, and has stayed that way quite awhile. I'm am just a hobbyist though, so don't use them a whole lot.

Hope I was a little help . . .

Richard Gillespie
07-20-2010, 3:09 PM
Thanks Jeff!

David Weaver
07-20-2010, 3:36 PM
For plane blades, don't worry too much about the alloys yet unless you're sharpening with oilstones. If you use oilstones and your last step in your regimen is also an oil stone, then I'd go with O1.

For chisels, I would go with O1 with the exception being for mortise chisels. LN's little mortise chisels are A2 and they are really tough, but the bevel angles that O1 is better at are likely to be where you'll end up sharpening most of your chisels, especially if you like to pare or work with a fair amount of softwoods.