PDA

View Full Version : SMC Art Challenge 2010 / Roland Martin

Roland Martin
07-20-2010, 9:34 AM
Well, finally got to complete my entries. Hindsight being 20/20, I guess fall or winter may have been more comfortable and have a little more available time for everybody to turn. What can I say, I'm a rookie:confused:.

I certainly would like to thank all that have either joined the challenge, will join and all who take part in replying & commenting. Seven months ago, I would have never thought I would be taking part in a forum. Thanks to all for showing, teaching, commenting, offering suggestions, and making this forum so easy to enjoy. ;)

My utilitarian entry is a black cherry bowl, my #9, measures 7 3/4" x 2 3/4" and about 3/16" thick. It has an undercut rim & a different shape than usual for me.

Roger Chandler
07-20-2010, 9:51 AM
Well, finally got to complete my entries. Hindsight being 20/20, I guess fall or winter may have been more comfortable and have a little more available time for everybody to turn. What can I say, I'm a rookie:confused:.

I certainly would like to thank all that have either joined the challenge, will join and all who take part in replying & commenting. Seven months ago, I would have never thought I would be taking part in a forum. Thanks to all for showing, teaching, commenting, offering suggestions, and making this forum so easy to enjoy. ;)

My utilitarian entry is a black cherry bowl, my #9, measures 7 3/4" x 2 3/4" and about 3/16" thick. It has an undercut rim & a different shape than usual for me.

Nice bowl Roland,

I like your form, and the sanding job was very good as well. This one is a classic!

Roland Martin
07-20-2010, 10:18 AM
This is a second attempt at my art piece, needed some practice:eek:;). After ruining a beautiful piece of ambrosia maple from Mike Smith (sorry Mike:mad:), I decided to use some of the figured Spanish Cedar I had hanging around.