PDA

View Full Version : Stopping bandsaw with wood?

Billy Trinh
07-14-2010, 8:37 PM
Just curious if anyone use scrap wood to stop bandsaw blade? With power off, i don't think it would cut very far thus wouldn't shorten blade life as much. I wouldn't mind cutting a few bdf less for the life of a blade if i don't have to wait for it to wind down every time.

Mike Cruz
07-14-2010, 9:47 PM
Personally, I don't see a problem with it. But, I'm not an expert on the matter. Only thing I could see is that it might put undo (or at least more than normal) stress on the guide bearing behind the blade.

Jim Rimmer
07-14-2010, 10:04 PM
Relax. You're in the shop for fun and a hobby. What's a few seconds to let the saw stop on it's own? :confused:

Keith Westfall
07-14-2010, 10:59 PM
Only thing I could see is that it might put undo (or at least more than normal) stress on the guide bearing behind the blade.

?? How could this be any different than regular sawing?

Mike Cruz
07-15-2010, 6:31 AM
Keith, as I said, it was the only thing I could think of that might be a negative. But let me explain... When you are sawing, the blade keeps moving, so whatever forward pressure you put on the wood into the blade gets released into the wood as a cut. If you are trying to stop the the blade with the wood, you are pushing the blade back more that the teeth can release the pressure into the wood (as a cut). If that didn't paint the picture for you, let's try this. Picture trying to make a cut on a BS with only a constant 80 rpm with a high feed rate. The teeth wouldn't be able to remove enough wood quickly enough, so the blade would be pushed against the back bearing with more force than what it is designed for.