PDA

View Full Version : Which Grinding Wheel Dresser?

Tony Shea
07-14-2010, 9:51 AM
I am fairly new to the world of power grinding my edges on my cutting tools, chisels, plane irons, etc. I must admit that with the right setup it is so much faster than by hand and abrasives.

My issue now is the trueness of the new white aluminum oxide 80 grit wheel I've purchased. Right out of the box it is not all that true and needs some attention. I just can't decide on a decent wheel dresser that isn't going to be a waste of money and is easy to use. I've seen the wheel style dresser, T-shaped wheel dresser, and the diamond point dresser at the end of a round rod. The diamond point dresser is the most expensive and looks to be the hardest to use as it would require a jig of some sort. The T-style dresser looks to be the easiest to use but am not sure how well the abrasive holds up. I would love some opinions of which dresser has worked well for you guys as I don't want to waste my money on such a simple item.

Myk Rian
07-14-2010, 10:48 AM
I use diamond whetstones.
http://www.woodcraft.com/Images/products/411935.jpg

David Weaver
07-14-2010, 12:03 PM
A good quality single point dresser would be choice #1.

Cheap choice #1 would be the cheap T style HF diamond dresser with coarse diamonds on it, which also works well on the tormek wheels, too. (i've been using one for two years on gray and white dry grinder wheels, and on the black tormek wheel, which the regular dresser doesn't work fast enough on).

Never used a wheel - style dresser and don't understand how it would waste off the corners of a new grinding wheel.

Tony Shea
07-14-2010, 1:27 PM