PDA

View Full Version : Just launched, Strip Petrel

Anthony Albano
07-11-2010, 10:02 PM
A few pictures of a Guillemot Petrel strip kayak that I have been working on for over a year. Handles very well, I am a novice kayaker. Paulownia, spanish cedar, redwood, cherry , fiberglassed. Thanks for looking, tony

Gary Kvasnicka
07-11-2010, 10:56 PM
Congratulations Tony! Beautiful boat, you should be very proud.

There is nothing quite like paddling a boat you built yourself. I launched mine over two years ago, and I still can't paddle it without a big goofy grin on my face.

Get used to an extra 15 minutes "ramp time" answering questions like "Where did you get that boat?" Enjoy.

Jim Creech
07-12-2010, 9:33 AM
Well Done Tony! What's the next project?

Anthony Albano
07-12-2010, 11:31 AM
Thanks, you are right about the goofy smile. This was a day dream; "what if" kinda thing for a long time. The next one on the board is a CLC MillCreek 16.5 tandem. Will do this as a S&G to try and get it in the water quicker than the Petrel.

Quinn McCarthy
07-13-2010, 9:42 AM
Wonderful boat TOny.

Quinn

Neil Davie
07-15-2010, 9:05 AM
Great design and craftsmanship. Congratulations on its completion.

Anthony Albano
07-15-2010, 11:01 PM
Thanks everyone for the nice response; Guillemot has a lot of great designs

glenn witgen
07-20-2010, 7:43 AM
Nice job. What kind of wood did you use. I justed started building a Petrel also.
I am 6'4" 200 lbs I am concerned about fitting. What is your feeling about cockpit size.

Anthony Albano
07-20-2010, 4:15 PM