PDA

View Full Version : Hollowing Tool

Rusty Elam
07-10-2010, 9:40 AM
I have not yet tried any hollow forms but I want to. I am trying to find a basic tool to start without spending a fortune. I got a $50 gift card at Woodcraft around here somewhere and I noticed they have the Hunter Carbide tools 15% off.
Is this a good starting tool for hollowing?
And which one, they have several sizes but seem to only offer the #3 in full swan and shallow swan. Do I need the swan neck?
The #3 seems a little small but what do I know.
Is this the way to go to try hollowing or should I be looking at something else?
Rusty

David E Keller
07-10-2010, 10:08 AM
There are lots of ways you can go to get into hollowing. I'm no expert, but I've taken an interest in hollowforms recently. I do think you need a swan neck tool to get to areas under the shoulder of a form. I've been using the sorby swan neck midi-hollower almost exclusively for smaller forms, and I think it's straight forward and easy to use. The cutting tip is adjustable which allows it to be a bit more versatile. It also allows for different shaped cutters/scrapers to be used.

As for the smaller cutting tips, I find that to be an asset rather than a fault. Smaller tips offer less resistance to the cut and allow you to work further off the tool rest without vibration. The larger cutters are useful for me when blending and smoothing, but I don't use them for hogging out the waste.

There are lots of online article about making homemade tools which would allow you to save some money.

Terry Gerros
07-10-2010, 10:28 AM
You may want to take a look at the Rolly Munro tool. Works well for hollowing, has an articulated head to get under the shoulder. I tend to use a variety of tools to core out the inside.

Terry

Roger Chandler
07-10-2010, 10:30 AM
The hunter tools are for finishing cuts, very light, not for hogging out the main part of the form. I have 3 of them.