PDA

View Full Version : bandsaw question

Doug Carpenter
07-09-2010, 9:52 PM
I am new to using a bandsaw. I bought a Jet 14" bandsaw used. It is a 90's model.

I was trying to cut a slice of walnut on it about 1/4" thick and 4"tall. Soort of a resaw job but the peice was only 8 or nine inches long.

It was very hard to keep it against the fence. It kept wandering off course. I have to admit it is sort of what I expected from the saw but honestly it cuts way better than I thought. Am I missinf something? the blade I was using is a new rigid blade that came with the saw. It is 1/2" 4tpi blade.

I was frustrated to see the 17" polar bear at such a reasonable price. I bought my jet for $225 and put another $150 in it to tune it up. Seems like for twice the money I could get three times the saw.

am I asking too much of the saw or am I just doing something wrong.

Ultimately I will be cutting stock blanks to shape so I will cut 3" thick walnut pretty regularly.

I can always sell the saw but I don't think I'll be able to get what I have into it.

Myk Rian
07-09-2010, 10:04 PM
Draw a line down the edge of a board. Resaw it without the fence, by adjusting the angle as you go. When you get the right angle that way, turn the saw off and hold the board in position. Adjust your fence to the angle the board is on.
It's also possible the blade is dull on one side.

Will Overton
07-09-2010, 10:05 PM
Generally, the blades that come with any bandsaw should be retired. There are a number of decent blades out there, so do a little research. I use Timberwolf, manufactured by Suffolk Machinery. If you contact them, tell them what saw you have and what kind of cutting you are planning. They will recommend the correct blades. Other manufacturers will do th e same.