PDA

View Full Version : What Keeton Said...

David DeCristoforo
07-02-2010, 7:20 PM
Took the advice. Did some work....

For some reason, this makes me think of Bazooka Joe's friend, "Mort". The void was filled with a fine '09 DuPont mixed with Jamaica Blue Mountain.

Josh Bowman
07-02-2010, 7:36 PM
David,
That looks very nice. I'm just beginning.....I understand natural edge bowls, but how do you do that bowl?

Roger Chandler
07-02-2010, 7:50 PM
Josh,

If you are looking for the way to turn a natural edge bowl, there is a sequence to it. First if you are using a half log blank, mount it between centers and turn a tenon on the side that would be the middle of the log [opposite the bark] and then you can mount your tenon in your chuck, and then shape the outside, being careful to leave the bark you want to include on the bowl.

When you want to hollow out the center of the bark side, know that you have to pay close attention to the "shadow" as the undulations in the log shape will have high spots and low "shadow" areas. You will essentially be turning air on those low spots, so tool control is a must, or else you will get a catch that will at minimum tear off the very bark you are trying to save in making the natural edge in the first place.

make sure you do your shaping of the form on the outside first, and get it pretty much where you want it before starting on the inside. The hollowing is pretty much the same as with a regular bowl, except the high and low of the log, which means "turning air" on the low spots of the form. Check often to measure the thickness of the sides, and try to be consistent all the way to the bottom.

You may have to try 2 or 3 before you get the hang of it, so good luck! :)

Bernie Weishapl
07-02-2010, 8:08 PM
That is a beauty David. Really well done.

John Keeton
07-02-2010, 8:25 PM
David, that is just a beautiful piece of wood, and you certainly did it justice!