PDA

View Full Version : Clear Finish over India Ink....

John Thompson
06-30-2010, 5:47 PM
Getting ready to ebonize some maple with Speedball Super Black India Dye. I have never used India Ink before but on test scrap on both maple and poplar this stuff is fantastic to ebonize with. Niether have tannins for the most part so my rust and vinegar formula is out.

So... for those that have ebonized with India Ink what clear finish have you used over it. Once the Ink dries it is supposedly waterproof? Can I use clear water based poly without smearing the dried ink? I am farily certain shellac or oil based poly will work but I really don't want the slight hint of amber it will likely add in this case.

Anyone experienced with finishing over India Ink.. your advice would be greatly appreciated. I could just purchase some water based poly and test but I don't use it normally so before I do I would lke to stay one step ahead of simply experimenting.

Thanks in advance...

Jay Jolliffe
06-30-2010, 6:19 PM
I haven't used the India ink but I have used black dye. First I tried just applying the finish over & it pulled the dye so I sprayed a shellac seal coat & then applied the finish. Worked great didn't pull the dye. Do a test piece to find out

Prashun Patel
06-30-2010, 9:39 PM
I believe India Ink is water/alcohol soluble, so I'd bet you'd have issues doing anything but spraying a waterbased product on top of it.

If it were me, I'd seal it in with dw shellac.

Scott Holmes
06-30-2010, 10:10 PM
I have used ink to ebonize wood; a seal coat of de-waxed blonde shellac sprayed is your best bet to lock the ink in place

John Thompson
07-01-2010, 12:33 AM
Thanks... Jay.. Shawn and Scott. I did a simple test dragging a wiping rag with distilled water over the dried India Ink earlier tonight. It did not pull all the ink off but the wipe pad did have traces on it even though I used the same light stroke I would with poly. So.. IMO forget the water base.