PDA

View Full Version : Decorating Little Eggies.

paul mott
06-30-2010, 4:10 AM
Hi everyone,

This is my first attempts at engraving an image into the shell of a chickens egg. We had omelets for tea so rather than cracking the shells I made small holes and blew out the contents so I could experiment with some shells.
There is a lot to learn here and goose eggs are on the agenda for cutting right through to make the filigree designs seen in the eastern hand carved work.
Has anyone got any tips or had experience with this type of work ?.

Paul.

http://www.cooperman.talktalk.net/files/16_files/image322.jpg

Dan Hintz
06-30-2010, 9:26 AM
No tips offhand, but I wouldn't mind seeing more work using eggs...

paul mott
06-30-2010, 10:20 AM
A couple more of mine.

http://www.cooperman.talktalk.net/files/27_files/image620.jpg

http://www.cooperman.talktalk.net/files/27_files/image618.jpg

Paul.

Chris DeGerolamo
06-30-2010, 10:34 AM
have you vector cut any or just raster etch?

paul mott
06-30-2010, 10:40 AM
The first two are raster and the last one (horse) is vector.

Paul.

Andy Joe
06-30-2010, 11:03 AM
wow, thats cool stuff right there. What type of power are you using?

paul mott
06-30-2010, 11:29 AM
I really have no idea of the power Andy because I have no way of actually measuring it.
My tube is around 30W and it was set at 4mA continuous current (which is about the minimum it will reliably run at).

Paul.

Chris DeGerolamo
06-30-2010, 12:05 PM
The first two are raster and the last one (horse) is vector.

Paul.

I guess what I meant to ask was if you have actually cut through the shell.

paul mott
06-30-2010, 12:56 PM
Hi Chris,

Yes I can cut through the shell (the horse is almost trough in places) but not without making unacceptable scorch marks on the outside. The shell is then so weak there is little or no chance of cleaning it.
There must be a technique here but I have not yet found it - possibly an inert gas may be the way to go.