PDA

View Full Version : To Tormek or not and Wolverine

Josh Bowman
06-28-2010, 7:46 PM
As you guys know I'm new to bowl turning. I have a Tormek with all the do-dads. Some have said the Wolverine is better for lathe tools. I need some hands on advise here. Is the Wolverine and a slow speed grinder worth the expense or will the Tormek do the job just as well? A side question after talking with some nice folks at Crafts Supplies USA mentioned that using just the Tormeks grinder mount with a slow speed grinder will do the same as the Wolverine and I can just use my Tormeks jigs. He indicated that the slow speed grinders leave a burr that I should strive for in turning.

Bernie Weishapl
06-28-2010, 7:54 PM
Josh I have the Tormek and the Tormek jig for the dry grinder. I use that to shape but the Tormek to sharpen and hone my tools.

Jack Mincey
06-28-2010, 8:20 PM
Hi Josh,
If you already have the tormek I would use it for all my gouges. I prefer to use my tormek for all my gouges. For me they just cut better off it. For my scrapers, skews, and other turning tools other than a gouge I prefer using a slow speed grinder. You will need the setting jig for the gouges, it makes it very easy to repeat the angle every time. Use a diamond hone on your skew after you grind it and then polish the edge on the leather wheel of the tormek and your skew will be scary sharp.
Jack

Bill Bolen
06-28-2010, 9:15 PM
Lime Bernie I also use a bench grinder and wolverine jig to re-shape a tool. But, I sharpen all my tools using the Tormek...Bill...

Ryan Baker
06-28-2010, 10:12 PM
I have both systems, but I use the Wolverine setup for turning tools. The Tormek is just way too slow for me for as often as turning tools need sharpening -- and that includes the Tormek jigs on a dry grinder. It just takes too long to get the jigs set up, stone graded, water tray, etc. YMMV. You need to decide what works best for you. Skews do need additional work after a dry grinder.

Jim Sebring