PDA

View Full Version : Old King-Seely BS problem

Randall Clark
06-28-2010, 9:51 AM
My 12" Craftsman King-Seely Bandsaw is doing something that I consider odd--although I am somewhat new to bandsaws. I can get the top wheel (recently changed tire) to rotate the blade exactly in the middle; however, the bottom wheel rides the blade toward the front. There is no adjustment that I can see to the bottom wheel, but there must be some way to get it to ride on the center of the tire. Anybody? Please educate me.

Lance Norris
06-28-2010, 10:01 AM
Search here for coplainer or various spellings of such

glenn bradley
06-28-2010, 10:05 AM
A good bandsaw book or an trial subscription to Fine Woodworking Online is a great source for any bandsaw owner. First, don't get too hung up on where the blade rides on the wheel (more on that in the books) but, I generally like to see it about the same on both wheels. This is what people are talking about when they discuss bandsaw wheels being co-planer.

The top wheel generally tilts in and out to control blade position but, in an sort of 'neutral' state, the wheel "faces" should lie in the same plane. Adjustments for this usually involve shimming one wheel or the other to position it more or less forward on the axle. This is a very simplified discussion and a good book or other reference material will serve you well for this issue and increase how much you enjoy your saw going forward.

Nelson Howe
06-28-2010, 10:23 AM