PDA

View Full Version : Dog hole positions

Kevin McMichael
06-25-2010, 11:00 PM
I know that many recommend the dog holes three inches apart. I want to know how close to the edge does one make the row of holes.

How about the position of the holes for the holdfasts on the other side?

Michael Peet
06-25-2010, 11:15 PM
I think there are a few schools of thought. One is to place the holes close (say, 2") to the front edge of the bench, as this will be a comfortable planing position.

Another thought is to place them about 4" in from the front edge so you can clamp an 8" wide board on its centerline.

Yet another is to place them even further in so as not to interfere with the leg joinery, depending on your bench construction.

I am building according to the first, but I have never done this before so I cannot make a recommendation other than to confirm that I have an easier time planing a board that is close to the edge of the bench.

Good luck!

Mike

Peter Cobb
06-25-2010, 11:20 PM
If you have an end vise it may dictate the best placing of the holes. Otherwise I guess it depends on the work you do most. Try to plan ahead and, if you go for round dogs you can always add an extra later!
Cheers,
Peter

harry strasil
06-25-2010, 11:58 PM
basically it depends on what type of work you want to do. I have round dog holes and they also all get used for holdfasts. 39 in the bench top and 36 in the Apron. It may be a bit hard to see the ones in the top in this picture.

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v81/irnsrgn/nu%20bench/coatedbench050809.jpg

Randy Bonella
06-26-2010, 12:42 AM
I'm just making my bench and am no expert at this but I placed mine in about 3" from the edge pretty much let my bench design dictate where to put them. I had the same question earlier prior to setting in the dog holes and I've seen them within an inch or two of the front to quite a ways back 6-8"

http://i785.photobucket.com/albums/yy139/rmbonella/workbench/26bbenchboltsinalittlebottomflatten.jpg