PDA

View Full Version : Old tools from vacation shopping

Andrew Recher
06-24-2010, 11:24 PM
I've recently returned from vacation where I came across a number of old tools that I couldn't pass up. Besides the "diamond in the rough" type 11 no.5 bailey (which I may post about after it's cleaned up) I bought two handsaws. I'd appreciate any info anyone might have on what these may be.

The first one ($4.00) is a straight backed saw. I've not seen a handle with screws like this before, though I'm fairly new at this. It has no nib on the plate and from what I could read of the etching it looked like a diamond with text that read something like "Regal Temper" or something like that. Could be a homemade handle (?). This is kinda rough, though fairly straight, and probably needs to be re-toothed.

The second saw ($15.00) has a nib and a fairly unreadable etch. There is an enlargement of the escutcheon nut in the one photo. Again, the plate appears straight and overall OK. The handle-not so good.

I plan to clean these up and use them so was not too worried about their "collectability". I'm posting these pics because I'd like to know a little more about these, if possible, before diving in and fixing them up. Plus, I think a few of you might like looking at old tools as much as I do;).

Thanks,

Andy

Jim Koepke
06-24-2010, 11:33 PM
Yep, pictures of old tools does tend to keep the keyboard loaded up with the requisite supply of drool.

I would guess the first saw does have a replacement handle and the second one is made by Warren Ted Superior, also known as an unbranded saw that was made by just about any saw maker as a lower price alternative to the top named lines.

Both will likely make good users once they are cleaned up and retoothed.

jim

Rick Rutten
06-25-2010, 8:22 AM
"Warren Ted Superior" LOL!! Thanks for the laugh to start the morning!

Jim Koepke
06-25-2010, 11:23 AM
"Warren Ted Superior" LOL!! Thanks for the laugh to start the morning!

Glad to lend a chuckle.