PDA

View Full Version : scroll chuck question

Kevin Lucas
06-24-2010, 2:09 PM
Hi folks,

I'm really new to turning and have went at it the cheapest route I can. I got a 14 X 40 Harbor freight lathe and its great for spindle work. Now the bad part its a 3/4 10 tpi screw at the head stock and not a morse taper so I need an adapter.

http://www.harborfreight.com/14-inch-x-40-inch-lathe-with-6-inch-sander-45276.html

I have found 2 adapters that will make it an 1 x 8 tpi. One is at a local turning shop and has a flat base and thread. The other is a
http://www.amazon.com/PSI-Woodworking-LA341018-Headstock-Spindle/dp/B000KI8CBQ/ref=sr_1_24?ie=UTF8&s=hi&qid=1276907088&sr=1-24

This is all leading up to jaws I swear! If I put an adapter on the headstock I can put a scroll chuck the bowl bug has bitten me I guess. I can't afford oneway etc jaws but these look about right.

http://www.woodcraft.com/Product/2020042/18872/1-x-8-TPI-Self-Centering-4-Jaw-Chuck.aspx

The question is are they a good deal and will I get some good use out of them?

Tim Rinehart
06-24-2010, 2:22 PM
Yep, there goes another one down the spiral.

Hey, welcome. You'll get alot of advice, so take it all with grain of salt.

Your approach looks sound, and to keep $$ outlay minimized for now (won't last long...chuckle chuckle :p:p) you could do just what you're proposing.

Here's another optional chuck, also by Woodcraft, but on special. http://www.woodcraft.com/Product/2005185/6558/NOVA-1-x-8-TPI-Midi-Chuck.aspx

Read and see what people think about the chucks like these that use two rods to tighten, vs a chuck key arrangement (think extra large drill chuck key).

Nova G3 falls in that category, and would be a step up from what you're looking at.

Too bad the chuck mfrs I perused quickly don't have adapter for 3/4-10...just 3/4-16. Hmmm.

Have fun!

Kevin Lucas
06-24-2010, 3:31 PM