PDA

View Full Version : First Bandsaw

Andre Cormier
06-23-2010, 6:16 PM
Well the time has come where I would like to buy a band saw. Only problem is that I've never used one before so I'd appreciate a bit of help from you guys to help in my buying decision.

I'm not sure how much I want to spend on it because I'm just not sure how much I will use it. One person I talked to said that he uses his band saw much more than he expected when he added one to the shop. All I know is that whenever I'm working on something I often say "a band saw would be nice right now". I'm also planing on working with rough lumber in the future so re-saw will help.

Although they are different tools a table saw is the only thing I have to compare it too.............

1. I know it depends on what you mostly work on but since you added a ban saw to your shop how much do you use it vs the table saw?

2. For the same size and type of wood how is the cutting speed when compared to a table saw.

3. As I understand it a ban saw is not exactly a precision tool and needs to be tuned and operated correctly to get favorable results. Do the pieces cut with a band saw always need to be reworked or can you get a good flat and straight cut? For example, when re-sawing, do you need to run it in the jointer or can you go straight to the planer?

I would like to get a saw that I won't feel the need to upgrade too soon but at the same time I still need to buy a jointer and a dust collector.

On the top of my list is the grizzly 513x2 and it fits my budget nicely. Is the 150$ difference worth it for the Brake option? (513x2)

I am somewhat of a newbie woodworker and trying to get a better understanding of the band saw's uses and limitations.

Looking forward to your comments......

Thanks

Ken Fitzgerald
06-23-2010, 6:50 PM
Andre,