PDA

View Full Version : Dresser construction querstions

Jim German
06-23-2010, 10:10 AM
I'm going to be starting a new project in a couple of days, a dresser/changing table for my incoming kid. I'm pretty new to woodworking, and had a couple of questions on the design/construction of the dresser. I plan on pretty much copying a dresser that I liked at Buy Buy Baby out of Cherry, and noticed a few things that I thought were odd.

First the drawers were dovetailed, which I know is the preferred method. However I don't have a dovetail jig, and don't think I have the skill/patience to do them by hand, so I plan to use a lock miter joint instead. Does anyone see any issues with this?

Second, the drawer fronts were back beveled on the sides. What is the purpose of this?

The drawer sides were made of plywood, is it ok to make them out of a solid wood like popular instead?

Lastly, the drawer compartments on the inside were all separated by plywood. Is this necessary for any reason?

Thanks!

Rod Sheridan
06-23-2010, 11:13 AM
I'm going to be starting a new project in a couple of days, a dresser/changing table for my incoming kid. I'm pretty new to woodworking, and had a couple of questions on the design/construction of the dresser. I plan on pretty much copying a dresser that I liked at Buy Buy Baby out of Cherry, and noticed a few things that I thought were odd.

First the drawers were dovetailed, which I know is the preferred method. However I don't have a dovetail jig, and don't think I have the skill/patience to do them by hand, so I plan to use a lock miter joint instead. Does anyone see any issues with this?

Second, the drawer fronts were back beveled on the sides. What is the purpose of this?

The drawer sides were made of plywood, is it ok to make them out of a solid wood like popular instead?

Lastly, the drawer compartments on the inside were all separated by plywood. Is this necessary for any reason?

Thanks!