PDA

View Full Version : Shaper question

Dan Chouinard
06-22-2010, 9:22 PM
Any opinions on the Grizzly G9933 3 spindle shaper? Saw a used one today for $3,000 and was intrigued. Currently use one router table to make cabinet doors. Work keeps coming in and 3 bills seams like a reasonable investment for my 21' by 27' shop. Should I consider a multi-spindle and is this Grizzly a decent machine?

How many of you guys use two shapers for doors? One with stacked cutters for the cope and stick and one for the panels. Is stacking cutters a good or bad practice?

Thanks,
Dan

Jeff Duncan
06-22-2010, 10:05 PM
No opinions on that specific machine as I haven't used one, I shy away from most Grizzly stuff these days. I know I'm in the minority with that view here, but I make my living with my tools, and the equipment I've bought from them before was not worth the investment for me personally. I certainly wouldn't buy them used, besides that seems high, I though those 3 fer's were somewhat cheaper for some reason?
For 3k you'll have several options to look into. My personal recommendation would be to pick up 2 good quality used medium duty shapers, say Powermatic 27's or similar, and feeders to go with. Probably even have a few bucks left to invest in some nice tooling. Or even pick up a 3rd if you have seperate funds set aside for tooling already.
As far as stacking cutters I think it's fine with a good heavy duty shaper....ie. probably not the Powermatic 27 (though it's probably doable), and not the Grizzly. I have 2 shapers (yup, one's a 5 hp 27) and use the 27 for most of my door stuff, but I swap out the heads. Only takes a few more seconds anyway. If I was going to stack I'd look toward something a bit more robust. Plenty of capable machines out there, though if you want to be in the 3k range you'll be looking at older machines.
good luck,
JeffD

Joe Chritz
06-22-2010, 10:06 PM