PDA

View Full Version : A few new hand tools... Gloat for me...

Dave Gaul
06-17-2010, 8:49 AM
...because I'm still new at hand tools, and loving every new one I get!!

Got the burnisher by Two Cherries & the 10" mill file for sharpening my scrapers.

The beech mallet for wacking chisels, and the 1/4" mortising chisel is the "Extra Strong" line made in germany from Traditional Woodworker. Got the chisel for chopping my first mortises on a night stand for one of my daugthers. Gave it a test run on a scrap piece of Red Oak last night, seemed pretty good to me! Probably needs a good sharpening, but should do just fine in the maple for the night stand!

James Scheffler
06-17-2010, 12:17 PM

Got the burnisher by Two Cherries & the 10" mill file for sharpening my scrapers.

The beech mallet for wacking chisels, and the 1/4" mortising chisel is the "Extra Strong" line made in germany from Traditional Woodworker. Got the chisel for chopping my first mortises on a night stand for one of my daugthers. Gave it a test run on a scrap piece of Red Oak last night, seemed pretty good to me! Probably needs a good sharpening, but should do just fine in the maple for the night stand!

I would love to hear how the chisel holds up once you really get into the project. I've been think about buying one of those.

Jim S.

Jim Koepke
06-17-2010, 1:18 PM
Looking good.

I bought a similar mallet many years ago and still use it.

One of the first things done to it was a treatment of sandpaper to make the grip more comfortable and then a coating of furniture oil to help it last.

jim

Dave Gaul
06-17-2010, 1:49 PM
James, I will let you know how they fair.

Jim, did you oil the whole mallet or just the handle? Would BLO be ok to use?

Jim Koepke
06-17-2010, 2:13 PM
I only oiled the handle. Mine was able to slip out when it was new. Being tapered it only came out one way.

BLO would probably be fine.