PDA

View Full Version : Grizzly G1023RL or G690? Move the short rails or cut the long ones?

Gene Waara
06-16-2010, 1:37 PM
I’ve been working with wood for 25+ years even putting myself through college while selling Craftsman Power Tools (back when the salesman were on commission and actually KNEW something about the tools). It’s now time to replace the TS I bought while working there those many years ago as I am REALLY tired of measuring the fence to the front and back of the blade for every cut and the blade bogging on thick material . Without starting a Unisaw vs. Grizzly or new vs. used debate, I have decided to order a Grizzly G1023RL or G690 before the summer sale ends (I want a riving knife).
My shop is about 320 SF with no possibility of expansion (finished lower level) so the saw will be on a mobile base and must have a fence shorter than 52”. However, I really want more than the 29 ½” rip capacity right of the blade that the G690 offers (26” on the G1023RL), preferably 34-36”. I know I can move the rails to the right and gain about 12 more inches of rip width. Looking at the pdf of the G690 manual, it appears the holes are predrilled so you can only mount the rail one way. So can I assume I would have to drill all new holes to change the rip capacity? If I drill new holes can I assume I can have any left/right combination of the total rip (12 + 29 ½)? If I sacrifice the 12” of left rip will I regret it? In all my years I can only remember needing the left rip a few times but what do others need it for?