PDA

View Full Version : beginner wood hunt in the quad cities area

Michael James
06-15-2010, 11:31 PM
Hi everybody! New guy on the block here. I've fired a couple of emails to Jeff N, but dont know another soul. I live in the desert (albuquerque, NM) and all decent wood I know of is not cheap.
I will be in the quad cities area on July 17th (sat) weekend. I would love to buy a couple of nice chunks of wood at a fair rate. Not a lot because we're flying.
If you are willing to assist, I'd be grateful for a really long time. I bought a mini lathe in the winter to turn a couple of pens..... and, well, you know how it goes. I think y'all use the term vortex.... yeppers, tis a deep rabbit hole for sure.
Total respect to all here. I like the friendly environment, and supportive nature of your feedback. Im a therapist looking to retire in a few more yrs, but have done furniture and formica work in the past. The lathe is becoming a jealous mistress. Pls help.

Quad cities is Moline, Rock Island, Illinois / Davenport and Bettendorf, Iowa.

If you can/will help PM me here.
Big Thanks!
Michael

:)

Ken Fitzgerald
06-15-2010, 11:37 PM
Michael..........Welcome to the Creek!

As the signature of one our fellow Creekers says "Sawdust is better than Prozac!"

Again...Welcome!

Richard Madison
06-15-2010, 11:53 PM
Michael, Another big Welcome to the Creek! Hope someone in that area can fix you with some nice wood.

Reed Gray
06-16-2010, 12:26 AM
You can ship pretty cheap in the flat rate postal boxes. Large one is 12 x12 x 5 1/2 inches, and costs about $14 to ship no matter how much it weighs.

robo hippy

John Keeton
06-16-2010, 6:19 AM
Welcome, Michael!! Jeff has plenty of wood at fair prices, so I am sure you will be able to get some from him. Another source I use is Mike Smith at Century Tree Turnings (http://easternncwoodworkers.com/msmith/woodblocks.htm). No affiliation with either, except for the money they now have that used to be mine!!:D

Donny Lawson
06-16-2010, 7:35 AM