PDA

View Full Version : The Scraper: A Cheater's Tool?

Greg Taylor
06-15-2010, 10:08 AM
As a newbie I have been struck by how often comments are made in DVDs by the pros that using a particular gouge or skew technique eliminates the need for using a scraper. One definitely gets the impression that the scraper is a tool with a stigma attached to it. Is this because the pros have to work fast and efficiently and eliminating an additional tool is advantageous? Or is there a bigger thing going on here? Like "anyone can use a scraper but only people with developed technique can get a finish-quality cut with a gouge or a skew." This latter may well be true because I certainly have found a scraper can tidy up a lot of my poor technique. But that doesn't stop me from wanting to use all the tools to their full potential...and practicing to get there. Hope I'm not starting a war of a debate (actually that would be fun to read) but I'd love to hear opinions from the old hands about the status of the scraper.

Aaron Wingert
06-15-2010, 10:12 AM
I'd say that people that classify the scraper as a cheater's tool are just being snobbish. Kind of like flyfishing purists that frown on guys that use bait to catch fish.

The skew may be a more elegant way of doing things and requires a certain talent that many do not posess, but scrapers certainly have their place and are one of the handiest tools in my turning tool arsenal.

Sean Hughto
06-15-2010, 10:19 AM
I love my scrapers. Raffan and I think Conover both think they are great tools as well and that those who turn their nose up at them are misguided. I agree.