PDA

View Full Version : Newbie questions

Jeff Hendrix
06-14-2010, 8:54 PM
Hey guys, I am going to be outfitting a shop here in the very near future, I have several things in place already, but will be looking to upgrade table saws as well as buy a new planer, lathe, jointer and dust collection systems.

My budget is going to be around 10K and I want the most bang for the dollars spent. Here's your chance to weigh in and tell me what you would spend the money on and why. Please include what you would spend the most on and why if you can.

I am leaning toward a this table saw:

http://www.woodcraft.com/Product/2061051/21136/Powermatic-PM2000--3HP-1PH-Table-Saw-w50-Accu-Fence-System-and-Rout-R-Lift.aspx

but have been looking at the other brands. I want to of course spend as little as possible, but want to get very good machines and still get everything on my list.

Hello to all and thanks for your replies.

Jeff

Braun Reszler
06-14-2010, 9:25 PM
Im a newbie myself so you probably should ignore me but if I has 10k to spend and enough space I would be getting,

1. A Sawstop

2. A 12" jointer/planer w/helical

3. A sufficient cyclone system

4. dont know much about the lathe but in highschool I had fun making a bowl which I still have after 25 years.

Anyway Im sure Im not the only one who will chime in, good luck.

Steve Bracken
06-14-2010, 10:19 PM
Hey guys, I am going to be outfitting a shop here in the very near future, I have several things in place already, but will be looking to upgrade table saws as well as buy a new planer, lathe, jointer and dust collection systems.

My budget is going to be around 10K and I want the most bang for the dollars spent. Here's your chance to weigh in and tell me what you would spend the money on and why. Please include what you would spend the most on and why if you can.

I am leaning toward a this table saw: