PDA

View Full Version : Noob wants to know what to build???

Kevin Gregoire
06-11-2010, 6:22 PM
hey everyone,
im new to woodworking and the only things i have built so far are a bunch of jigs, a cribbage board, bread board, a mallet, and several bird houses.

can you all give me some ideas of some small stuff to build? i have a pretty complete shop cept for a router table yet and i have a bunch of wood i got (3/4 x 6 x 24 and 3/4 x 7 x 24 of pine)

any ideas of some fairly simple things &/or plans would be greatly appreciated.

thanks

Andrew Gibson
06-11-2010, 6:53 PM
Not sure I can help you as far as Plans, I usually design my own. Graph paper and a pencil get the job done for the most part.

As far as projects, you can start by looking around your shop and see what you might need, small boxes, shelves, tool racks. If you dont need anything for the shop. look around the house. bread box, spice rack, toilet paper holder, magazine rack remote control caddy, small to medium sized tables... there are tons of things around the house that you can build and hone your skills and still get good use out of, even if they dont turn out perfect.

John Hart
06-11-2010, 8:29 PM
Go get yourself a world class dartboard and design a cabinet with doors for it, Design in a scoreboard on one of the doors and nifty little drawers and compartments for all the stuff that goes with darts.

Then stain some of your pine...and leave some unstained. Then draw up a cool pattern for your doors then cut and piece the different stained boards together to make your patterned doors.

Doesn't matter if you play darts or not. They look really good where ever you mount them.

Lee Koepke
06-11-2010, 8:33 PM
some good ideas there!

I am STILL building jigs .. you kinda never stop!

I have been spending most of my time building those small projects, actually had a request for 3 more cutting boards and an ashtray, so thats what I tinker with.

scott spencer
06-11-2010, 9:40 PM