PDA

View Full Version : Symposium

Faust M. Ruggiero
06-10-2010, 7:28 PM
Next weekend is the woodturning symposium in Hartford, CT. I'm new to woodturning and hope to attend. I'm overwhelmed looking at all the demonstrations and discussions that will happen there. I am sure I would find them entertaining but probably way beyond the scope of a person just learning to use the tools. Have any of you found useful education for basic skills at past symposiums.
How about the trade show portion. Is that a good place to choose basic bowl gouges? I know I want a couple bowl gouges, probably a side ground and a conventional ground but I am not sure of the sizes. I know how easy it is to get sucked into overbuying at a show and would like a "start up tool" list so I don't go overboard and buy gimmicky tools. Any guidance?
fmr

charlie knighton
06-10-2010, 7:42 PM
you are very lucky, enjoy yourself, take the classes, take notes on which tools they are using for what, be sure to walk the vendor area each day and what the demo there, be sure to visit the instant gallery each day, you can not see it all or do it all so pace yourself .... enjoy

Dave Carey
06-10-2010, 10:55 PM
Faust,
I've attended two of these and will be at the Hartford one as well. I think there are things to learn no matter what your level of expertise is currently. It's also interesting to see the turners you read about and watch on DVDs; they're approachable, patient with questions that are basic or advanced and just all around nice people. Re the tools, I suggest you have a pretty good idea of what you're after, maybe narrowed down to two or three from different manufacturers. Otherwise it may be a bit confusing inasmuch as they all have the "best" tool available! Most of all just enjoy. Dave

John Keeton
06-11-2010, 6:39 AM