PDA

View Full Version : Spalted ash enclosed form

Mark Burge
06-09-2010, 6:56 PM
This form has some obvious imperfections .. er.. character. The worm holes were occupied when I started. Luckily I saw it and when I cranked the RPMs up, he went for a flying trip. There were some soft spots that did not cut well at all. I used the 80 grit gouge quite a bit. I had some trouble with the reversing as well. It came off the jamb chuck I was using even with tailstock support, so I just used a saw to cut off the tenon and sanded with my random orbital. I noticed today that the bottom has discolored/clouded some. I suppose this is moisture under the finish. I'll try some heat to see if it clears up, but I may have to sand and refinish. It has two coats of tung oil on it.

I have a matching open bowl to finish turn. I've never tried a set before, so we'll see how it comes out.

C&C welcome. Thanks for looking.

Dennis Ford
06-09-2010, 7:17 PM
Yep, lots of character in that wood. The form is nice and the wood looks great. Any warping that it does will likely add to the character. I would have guessed that it was oak.

David E Keller
06-09-2010, 7:24 PM
I, too, would have guessed oak. Whatever it is, it's nice.

Mark Burge
06-09-2010, 7:46 PM
No, I'm pretty sure its not oak. I came from a tree in the back yard. I'm not certain about ash, just my best guess. I'm a pretty lousy guesser. Thanks for the comments.

David DeCristoforo
06-09-2010, 8:10 PM
Whatever kind it is, that is one funky piece of wood. I would have liked to see the expression on that worm's face (do worms have faces?) when he (she?) found himself launched across the shop from the centrifugal force. Kinda like "worm warp drive". Nice job of keeping it together.

John Hart
06-09-2010, 8:12 PM
I like this piece for its character overall...and the form you chose compliments it nicely. I got to thinking that it would look cool with a planter planted in it.