PDA

View Full Version : power & speed settings for 1/8" acrylic

Linda Smith Alabama
06-08-2010, 2:03 PM
I have a 2-year-old 60 watt Chinese laser engraver, and I'm having to run it very slowly to cut 1/8" acrylic. It takes 80% power and speed of 3 to get through it. I'm a newbie but that seems weak to me. Does this sound like a bad laser tube? We have verified alignment and focus are correct.

Dan Hintz
06-08-2010, 2:15 PM
You'll have to tell us what a speed of 3 equates to in inches per second. For US-based systems (Epilog, ULS), 100S is roughly 75ips. At a true 60W, you should be in the area of 1ips for 1/8".

Linda Smith Alabama
06-08-2010, 2:23 PM
According to manufacturer's specs, max speed is 24,000 mm/min. That's 400mm/sec or 15.74 inches. Max speed setting in the software is 400. So, if my math is right that's 0.12 inches/sec at speed setting of 3 (15.74/400 *3)
Reeeealllly sloooow.

Kim Vellore
06-08-2010, 2:34 PM
That is assuming it is linear. I am not sure it is on my epilog.

Kim

Viktor Voroncov
06-08-2010, 2:38 PM
Two years for glass tube :( 99% you need replacement. Also check lens and mirrors - they also may be need replacement after such long time.

But may be it's OK for your tube? Did you cut same acrylic before with faster speed?

Linda Smith Alabama
06-08-2010, 3:41 PM
It's 2 years old but I've only had it a month, so I don't have any history to compare it to. It cuts through 1/8" hardwood easily and will cut 3/8" acrylic at the lowest speed. I just thought it would cut 1/8" acrylic faster than that and was wondering what I should expect. Since I bought it used, I went in knowing that the tube might need to be replaced. Of course, I want to get as much use out of this one as I can. :D

Mike Null
06-08-2010, 4:00 PM
It sounds to me like it's working ok.

I believe Dan's reference is to raster speeds rather than vector.

Dan Hintz
06-08-2010, 4:17 PM