PDA

View Full Version : Shop Tools

Jack Burgess
06-05-2010, 10:25 PM
Hey guys, listening to all of you lets me know that I am way out of your league. I am a novice and build small toys and dollhouses. Love your comments but not sure I can go the route of the quality tools for hobby. What is opinion of Rigid tools for band saw and drill press. Thanks,

Britt Lifsey
06-05-2010, 10:41 PM
Hey Jack,
My tool collection is probably similar in quality/price to what you are talking about - several Craftsman tools (from many years ago), a small Ryobi band saw, etc.

The newest tool I bought is the Ridgid 13" planer and am very happy with it. If the band saw and drill press are similar quality they are probably decent bang for the buck. I had originally bought the Ryobi brand but after one use swapped it for the little more expensive Ridgid brand.

Bill Huber
06-05-2010, 11:24 PM
I have a Ridgid sander and a planer and have been very happy with both of them. For the money I think Ridgid is fine.

Tom Welch
06-05-2010, 11:32 PM
I have a ridgid band saw, planner and jointer. They are great for a small shop. The quality is higher than others in their catagory. The band saw is good, just replace the crappy blade with a good name brand, and install cool blocks and you will be pleased. The Planer blades are very easy to change out, and the blades are reversable, so that will save you some money. Mine are about 4 years old and had no problems with them.

Kevin Gregoire
06-06-2010, 1:53 AM
i have a ridgid 14" bandsaw and i like it, it does everything i need it for and it also brightens up my shop with the nice orange doors.

Dave MacArthur
06-06-2010, 3:15 AM