PDA

View Full Version : S-Shaped toolrest for delta 46-460

JIM HERNANDEZ
06-02-2010, 6:58 PM
I am new to turning and especially bowl turning. Should I be using an s-shaped toolrest for hollowing out bowls, and if so, which toolrest would you recommend ? Thanks in advance for the advice !

Jim

John Keeton
06-02-2010, 7:40 PM
Jim, I got this one (http://www.pennstateind.com/store/CLTSJ.html)from PSI when I first started turning bowls, and would not recommend it at all.
http://www.pennstateind.com/graphics/275px/CLTSJ.jpg

Don't go cheap on this or any other rest. I have not purchased another one yet, but will eventually. I do believe they are very helpful, but a good one would be much MORE helpful!:o

Joe Wiliams
06-02-2010, 7:44 PM
John, what didn't you like about that rest? And what should someone look for when selecting a curved rest?

Kyle Iwamoto
06-02-2010, 8:28 PM
I have that rest. I think it's okay. I don't know where to get a "better" one for a reasonable price. Since I'm pretty much a newb, I went for cheap. Granted, it's not a great rest, but it is cheap and it does work. It is better than my stock Jet mini rest. It goes with the old addage, buy cheap, buy twice. In my case, if/when I upgrade to a big lathe, I won't be needing that rest. For my mini I think it works. I can't see spending a huge amount of money on a high quality rest for a mini lathe. Some rests are half of what I paid for the whole lathe. Can't see that.

Since you have a Delta midi, a more capable lathe, you may want to invest some serious dollars..... I you do take a chance, you won't be out a lot of dollars.

Just my $0.02.

John Keeton
06-02-2010, 8:42 PM