PDA

View Full Version : Introduction and plane ID question

Kemil Pepin
06-02-2010, 2:19 PM
Hello to all! My name is Kemil and I have been hanging around here a few months now, reading and enjoying the informative and humorous threads. I make my living as a woodworker, this meaning anything from carpentry to fine furniture. I rely on both hand tools and power tools, can't see working with only one type exclusively :).

I would like some help to identify a jointer plane that I purchased some time ago. The unique feature is the frog/lateral adjuster. I have seen this in a picture online before but just can't remember where. The lateral lever engages a flat bar, which rests in shallow horizontal groove in the frog. The ends of the bar are turned up and catch the outside edges of the iron/cap iron. Unfortunately this frog was broken and brazed at the groove in the frog and the lateral adjuster modified to work like a Stanley (type 5, with the bent up end).

Can anyone point me to some online information on this plane maker? Thanks in advance!

Kemil

Jim Koepke
06-02-2010, 3:12 PM
Until I read your description, the twist at the end of the lever had me thinking Union Mfg. Co.

jim

Jeremy Dorn
06-02-2010, 5:02 PM
Your pictures make it look like either an old Ohio plane, or possibly one of the Keen Kutters that Ohio used to make and relabel for them.

I've got a friend with quite a few Keen Kutters that have frogs that look just like that, with the tiny upturned piece to engage the blade, instead of a disc shape like most of the other manufacturers.

JD

Kemil Pepin
06-02-2010, 5:46 PM
Jim, the shape of the later lever is very similar to Union, the point is just a little sharper maybe?. The metal is quite a bit thicker also, a heavier gauge than most manufacturers used.