PDA

View Full Version : Is this guy crazy? 68 a bd ft mahogany

Robert gree
05-31-2010, 10:35 PM
is it worth that much?

tampa.craigslist.org 1755908058

Matt Meiser
05-31-2010, 10:38 PM
Well, he/she didn't find a buyer when it was for sale a couple years ago.

Cody Colston
05-31-2010, 10:46 PM
Probably, if it is as advertised.

Cuban Mahogany is virtually non-existant as a commercial species. I imagine that someone doing an antique reproduction would pay that much for it.

If I had a spare $80,000 or so laying around, I'd buy it.

Robert gree
05-31-2010, 10:49 PM
very true, Im fairly new to the hardwood aspect of woodworking just hard to imagine 68 dollars a board foot

scott vroom
05-31-2010, 10:49 PM
He's not crazy; he's hoping to find a buyer crazy enough to pay 68/bf:cool:.

george wilson
05-31-2010, 10:55 PM
I have looked at the pictures,and I just do not think it is actually Cuban mahogany. The pores are too big. This would surely get me a good tongue lashing from the owner,but I have Cuban mahogany,and have been using it for nearly 39 years.

During a severe hurricane several years ago(Andrew?) in Florida,decorative Cuban mahogany trees were blown down. There was someone selling wood cut from them for about $30.00 a bd.ft.. It wasn't as dark as Cuban usually is,possibly being cut from smaller than usual trees. However,it was extremely hard and very heavy,as it should have been. The furniture conservation shop in Williamsburg bought some.

The stock I have is also about 100 years old. It is quite dark,with much smaller pores than regular mahogany.

From the looks of the tear out next to the knot in one picture,the wood shown is much softer than Cuban. It looks like regular Honduras around which a legend has grown in the family. It looks soft and punky from the way it tore. Cuban would have cracked out in sharp,clearly defined chunks,not making fuzz like that. I think grandfather didn't correctly identify his wood.