PDA

View Full Version : Bandsaw gloat and advice needed on tune up

Nathan Callender
05-31-2010, 9:33 PM
Hey all - I just picked up a display model for the Ridgid 14" bandsaw for a really good price. It was assembled very poorly as most of the display items from the borg are, so I am planning on a complete reassembly to make sure everything is put together correctly. While I'm at it, I figure I might as well do any upgrades that I'll want later on - guides, fence, etc. Here's where I need help:

1. Are there any good comprehensive web resources on how to tune up this particular saw? I've read a few threads about problems common to this saw like the base needing reinforcement, but I haven't found a complete step by step guide on all the things that need to be done with this particular unit.

2. What parts should I plan to just replace right away? Tires? Guides? Base?

3. Is the riser block worth getting? I am new to the band saw so I really don't know what I need, but is it worth putting a riser block on this saw, and if so, which one should I go with?

4. Is a fence worth getting, or should I just plan to make a shop-built fence?

Thanks for the feedback!

Van Huskey
05-31-2010, 9:50 PM
First, no pics = didn't happen... :D

1. don't know of any for this saw but there may be, first thing I would do is make sure the wheels are balanced, a known issue with some of those.

2. Best thing to do is run it and see what if any problems you have, address those first then consider the upgrade path based on what are the weak links and what you plan to do with the saw.

3. For me personally the idea of resawing over 6" with only 3/4hp would be like pulling teeth but to each hs own. I would at least wait until I had a reason to try to resaw over 6"

4. Shop made fences are fine but I like the Kreg version

Good luck and lets see those picks!

Lance Norris
05-31-2010, 10:22 PM