PDA

View Full Version : Something for the hobbyists

john brenton
05-31-2010, 3:51 AM
There's quite a few amazingly talented and seasoned professionals in this forum...I am not one of them. When it comes to woodworking, I'm the guy in the sweater vest and argyle socks smoking a pipe while planing in the old tool catalogs. I go to buy wood and I feel like the guy who kicks the car tire at the car lot. Complete ignoramus here, but a plumber by trade so I am a Cro-Magnon through and through. I am dedicated to doing things the hard way as cheaply as possible, and think my tool acquisition stage has gone very well. I'm happy with every tool I have, I use just about all of them regularly, and have very little buyers remorse on any of my tools. A few frivolous buys here and there, but altogether a cheap skate's shop is being formed.

So I see a lot of newbs like me asking about essential tools and prices, so figuring that I am finally to the point where I don't want any more tools I figured I'd share. This isn’t my complete collection, but it is the bulk of it and covers what I believe to be at the very least essential to any job.

Photo: Tools (1):
The butchers block was made with some discounted wood with an oak strip for dogs in the future. For now its just fine the way it is. I get everything done with clamps for now. All of the tools pretty much speak for themselves, there really is nothing worthy of mention and most things are easily recognizable and can be found at the home improvement stores. The rasps, files, coping saw and the spoke shave get the most use, although everything gets used occasionally. The mallet is shop made and I use is ALL the time. It came out kind of crappy but it holds up to the abuse. Anything else worthy of mention is covered in the next pics.

photo CHISELS:
From L-R

1. Set of curved Sorby gouges: get used all the time. Set of three were $50 on Ebay from England. I was making a larger purchase so I worked out a deal.