PDA

View Full Version : couple of recent bowls

Sean Hughto
05-30-2010, 9:13 PM
Never enough bowls right? :rolleyes:

First is cherry. About 11 across and almost 7 deep.

Second one is ambrosia maple. About 14 across and 4.5 deep.
The ambrosia one is sort of ironic in that I posted in the bowls "uses" thread that I like to make stuff that can be used. The beetle holes make the use of this one somewhat questionable - at least sor any food that might have a liquid component.

Thanks for looking. I know they are simple. I'm a beginner, and am still so fascinated with, and challenged by, the curves alone, that I haven't even thought about trying much else with my forms in the way of decoration or embellishment. Constructive criticism welcome.

David DeCristoforo
05-30-2010, 9:23 PM
Those are nice bowls. I really like the cherry one, especially the bevel on the rim. No need for any embellishment there. I am finding that I like simple, graceful forms more than some of the complex "tour de force" pieces I see, even though those may be more impressive in their execution.

Aaron Wingert
05-30-2010, 9:26 PM
I like them both but am especially partial to the ambrosia maple one. Great shape to it.

Sean Hughto
05-30-2010, 9:26 PM
Thanks, David. I appreciate the encouragement.

Harvey Ghesser
05-30-2010, 9:27 PM
Sean,

I think both of your bowls are terrific! The ambrosia maple is my favorite! Keep up the good work!:D

Harv

Sean Hughto
05-30-2010, 9:33 PM
Thanks, Aaron. The maple is probably technically superior as far as being one of the most even interior curves I have managed. It also has a very uniform thickness on the walls and bottom - sometimes I get lucky!

I thought I was just going to rough the cherry, but it turned out to be far drier than I thought, so I went ahead and finished it in one go. Something about the height seemed to demand a heavier wall and base to keep it stable. I like it, but I would usually think thinner.