PDA

View Full Version : Ok! Mark Singer you asked for it.

Zahid Naqvi
11-22-2004, 9:52 PM
Well you started the whole debate on how we spend too much time on tools and too little on design, so here's your chance to be the guiding light for wannabes like me.

How do you go from being amazed by pretty pictures in magazines or Internet to developing a personal style. I am a computer engineer and have been brain washed for too long. When aproaching a new subject I am used to looking at a flow chart of certification track of courses. So what do you think would be a design track which culminates into one being able to visualize original designs, and not combines aspects of several others into a single product. Which is my current modus operandi.

:confused:

Mark Singer
11-22-2004, 10:46 PM
Zahid,

I am actually quite pleased with the response and activity from my thread on design.. People ,like yourself are starting to think about design....or thinking more about it than before. I never promised than one project of focusing on design would make anyone a great designer. I have recieved private messages about what to do and some good suggestions. One which I am planning to take is to document one of my own woodworking projects from inception , design , chosing materials, construction, and finally finishing. I think this will be helpful, because each step of the way I will document making decisions we all must make for each project and why I chose a particulsr one. It means I will need to slow down and take a few pics to help visulize the process (and keep Tyler happy:eek: )