PDA

View Full Version : Dresser pics and need advice - PLEASE!!!!!

Mike Tempel
11-22-2004, 8:38 PM
Really need some finishing advice as I am quickly approaching that stage of my project. This is made from QS red oak. I took inspiration from a magazine but changed some things to fit my style and dimensions. I would like to make the top, mirror frame, base, and knobs darker than the rest so I suppose I need to dye those parts. I understand I will have to fill the grain before I start any finishing. All of this I have never done before as this is my first attempt with QS red oak:eek: . Also, I would like for the grain to pop out at you and would like to have the top have a deep reflective finish like looking at it through glass. It will need to be durable as this is for my 8 year old daughter. I don't have the equipment or space to spray so this will all be hand applied. Oh yeah, I have about a week to get it done then I have to go back to work :( . Thanks in advance for your help and advice. :o :o :o

Mike

Scott Coffelt
11-22-2004, 9:14 PM
I just finished a chair from QS Oak. I sanded to 320 and then stained with Watco, Dark Walnut and then 3 coats of wipe on poly and finally a coat of dark brown wax.

I left the grain as it is really nice on QS Oak.

See this link

http://www.sawmillcreek.org/showthread.php?t=13498

Mike Tempel
11-22-2004, 9:22 PM
I have heard that oil should be used lightly or not at all with red oak as it soaks it up only to weep it out over time. As I don't have the time to wait for it to dry itself should I avoid oil altogether? What about shellac? Will I get the same pop from shellac?

Steve Cox
11-22-2004, 9:27 PM