PDA

View Full Version : Stanley #3...A need to have???

Walter McGuire
05-22-2010, 11:13 PM
Hello fellow Creekers,

I need your infinite wisdom...to save me from buying something I don't need.
I've been a woodworker for most of my life, but recently I've really been bitten by the Neanderthal bug...I even dream "Hand Tools" at night. Wow, what on earth is wrong with me, I'm addicted and need rehab. Anyway, I've been using a #4 for my smoothing purposes and it works great. should I snatch up a good #3 if I find a nice one, or is it simply a plane for those with tiny hands or looking to fill a spot on their till. I value your experience and welcome any sort of comments or advice.

Thank you so much.:confused:

Jim Koepke
05-22-2010, 11:28 PM
There really is not enough difference to make it a must have.

If you make a lot of small boxes, doll houses or bird houses, then it may be a less cumbersome plane to use than a #4.

If you do a lot of furniture with drawers and panels, you may actually find a #4-1/2 to be a more useful addition.

All three sizes are in my accumulation and the #4 and #4-1/2 get used more than the #3.

jim

John Gornall
05-23-2010, 12:00 AM
I think you have to try a plane to know if you like it. #3 is my most used plane. It just seems to feel right to me for all the tweeking woodwork needs - trim a drawer front, board edges, a little tearout, dovetails, door edges. I have Lie Nielsen, Clifton, and Stanley 3's and there's always one on the bench.

Walter McGuire
05-23-2010, 12:53 AM
Thanks for the wisdom. Please keep posting your preferences on this topic. It sounds like I should buy a 4 1/2 and a #3, even if it's just to try out. If I get them at a fair price and don't like them, I can always use the parts or sell them.

Are there any other planes out there you find really handy that people tend to overlook? I have three no. 4's, a no. 6 and a no. 7...as well as a 9 1/2 and 60 1/2 block plane. I'm working on replacing my no. 5.

Jonathan McCullough