PDA

View Full Version : Differences Bosch 4000 v 4100

John Mark Lane
05-21-2010, 11:56 AM
Hi Folks,

I have an opportunity to grab a Bosch 4000 for a pretty good priced used. I was seriously looking at the 4100, which I think (?) is the newer model. Can anyone quickly tell me what the differences are? Is the 4000 a good long-term saw (for a small shop)? The saw comes with the stationary base (not the mobile base), which is fine because I wouldn't use the mobile base anyway, I will build a wooden stand for it with other features (eg, folding side and outfeed tables etc).

Any help would be appreciated. I've been all over the place in what saw to get. I have a Delta Shopmaster, but will likely leave that in the garage for rough work outside etc. This will be for more refined work in a small shop setting.

Thanks,

Mark

Mike Reinholtz
05-21-2010, 12:14 PM
I had a 4000 and recently saw the 4100 at Dixieline Lumber. The 4100 has a new blade guard design, looks like quite a change from the 4000. I asked the difference and was told the newer unit comes with a wheeled stand so its more portable and has the newer blade guard, the fence looked a little different but not like a big upgrade. Motors in these don't vary much, pretty much just a circular saw mounted with the blade sticking up in the air. I was happy with mine, but upgraded to a contractor saw and eventually found a 40s unisaw that I really like.

No complaints, it was very portable and as far as benchtop machines go I think it's one of the best out there.

John Mark Lane
05-21-2010, 12:28 PM
Thanks, Mike. That's actually very interesting, because the blade guard shown for the 4100 on the Bosch website is one of the most appealing things about the saw. It clips on or off in seconds and looks very cool.