PDA

View Full Version : Delta or Grizzly bandsaw?

Thomas Delpizzo
05-19-2010, 10:39 PM
I'm new to the forum, but I'm sure there have been quite a few discussions on machinery choices, etc. However, my issue is a bit different.
My local Craigslist has an older Delta 14" bandsaw for sale with 1.5 hp. The saw is actually a Delta/ Rockwell. I figure it to be built during the '60's or earlier. I have heard purists state that Rockwell actually hurt the quality of the Delta equipment. Can't tell myself as I have had no experience with that.

Grizzly, on the other hand, has their 14" bandsaw with 1.5hp motor, extras that you would normally need to buy, such as, fence, resaw fence, internal cleaning brushes, fast blade release, etc. on sale now for $625 plus shipping of $89.

The asking price for the Delta is $300; it's about 1.5 hours away, will eventually need Carters, and other upgrades probably costing another $250 or more. The other possible problem is parts for that model. Any suggestions??

Van Huskey
05-19-2010, 11:23 PM
IF the Delta is in excellent shape you will have a better BS in the end after upgrades for less money. The Carter upgrades and Kreg fence for instance are better than the OEM Grizzly stuff.

Dave MacArthur
05-20-2010, 12:53 AM
I think having the model # is critical. There are quite a few models out there, and there were significant differences. Look at the Delta 14"ers in just the last 10 years, you almost need a PhD to sort out which ones are better. Get a model #, then do a google search on it to read some reviews. Then go to OWWM.com and read up there on that model (OldWoodWorkingMachinery).