PDA

View Full Version : Turning cottonwood

J. Tyler Klassen
05-12-2010, 9:30 AM
I am new to SMC but a very much impressed with what I've seen so far.
I am pretty new to turning as well. Started with spindle turning and am now turning bowls.
I am interested in turning some bowls or platters from cottonwood, but I have never seen anything written or posted on working with cottonwood.
Is cottonwood a turnable wood? Any special challenges associated with it?
Any information would be helpful.
Thanks in advance.
Tyler

Scott Hussey
05-12-2010, 9:34 AM
I have turned some..it's pretty stringy and "cottony" when wet :)

I have rough turned it, let it dry then final turned it and it's ok. I have had some tearout issues, but that may be me and my skills.

I have also turned it to final shape when wet and it warped pretty badly when drying - no surprise.

If nothing else... it's great wood to practice on.

Matt Hutchinson
05-12-2010, 9:43 AM
Scott pretty much said it. Good technique is important when turning cottonwood, due to it's stringy-ness. It has some gorgeous figuring in crotch areas, but it can be challenging since it's so soft.

Hutch

Bernie Weishapl
05-12-2010, 10:00 AM
Curt Fuller turns a lot of cottonwood. He has turned some beautiful pieces. I have turned a few pieces. It is kind of difficult but when done the wood can be beautiful like Hutch said especially the crotch. Sharp tools and patience is what it takes. At a demo Mike Mahoney said he like cottonwood for utility items and turns a lot of it. He said it is difficult but is what he considers a good wood for these items.

David E Keller
05-12-2010, 11:21 AM
I agree with Scott. It can have some beauiful figure and caramel color with an oil finish. It seems pretty resistant to cracking if you get the pith out. Looking forward to seeing some finished pieces.

Tom Collins
05-12-2010, 11:41 AM