PDA

View Full Version : Lathe

Mark Woodmark
05-10-2010, 9:11 PM
I am new to woodturning. I have a PSI midi lathe. It seems to do a pretty good job, but seems to be underpowered. Someday I plan too replace it after I get more proficient at using a lathe. My question is what lathes would everybody recommend and why? I plan to do mostly medium to larger bowl shaped items and occasionally spindle shaped items. I am looking for quality, ease of use, and accuraccy.....Thanks

alex carey
05-10-2010, 9:14 PM
if medium sized means 12" give or take then I think either the Jet 1642 or the Nova is in order.

Mike Cross
05-10-2010, 9:21 PM
You didn't mention your budget for the new lathe purchase. There are several choices. You will probably find that the Nova DVR and the Jet 1642 are very popular here among others like the Powermatic 3520. there are several threads with comparisons that you might do a search for to expolre all the differences and capabilities.

Mike

Mark Woodmark
05-10-2010, 9:54 PM
You didn't mention your budget for the new lathe purchase. There are several choices. You will probably find that the Nova DVR and the Jet 1642 are very popular here among others like the Powermatic 3520. there are several threads with comparisons that you might do a search for to expolre all the differences and capabilities.

Mike

No budget figured yet. More interested in what good and whats not

Kyle Iwamoto
05-10-2010, 9:59 PM
No budget? Powermatic 3520!:)

Paul Douglass
05-10-2010, 10:14 PM
My dream lathe is a Oneway, and don't ask me why, I just want one. I have not heard of any unhappy owners of the Powermatic. I have a Nova 1624 which I am becoming unhappy with but there are many with that lathe that love it.

Bernie Weishapl
05-10-2010, 10:35 PM
I have the Nova DVR XP which turns 16" inboard and 29" outboard. It was between it and the Jet 1642. The Nova had a smaller footprint and that is what I went with. Both will serve you well.

Allen Neighbors
05-10-2010, 11:47 PM