PDA

View Full Version : Bench Top Drill Press

ron hokenson
05-07-2010, 7:40 PM
I am going to purchase a Bench Top Drill press and am not sure which one to get. I am a modeler, and first thought of the smaller Baby Drill Press. The more I think of it, I am thinking that it would be handy to have a somewhat larger one to use for woodworking. I would be setting up something for Drum Sanding possibly . I am somewhat room challenged and want to stay as small as possible. Height would be no more than 40".

I am not sure, but I guess something with 1/2HP and maybe 12 speeds or so with low speeds available would be what I want. I want at least a 12".

The ones I am considering are Grizzly G7943 (14") and the Rikon 30-120 (13"). I looked at the Delta, Jet and General and maybe one of those would work also. I also looked at the Shop Fox, but the quality might be an issue as the one I looked at was rough.

I want the best quality unit that has good product support should I need it.

Any recommendations would be appreciated.

Brendan Plavis
05-07-2010, 7:44 PM
Skil has one.... I happened to see it when I went to get by BS..... it looked of Okay construction, and its only about $100

Paul Wunder
05-07-2010, 8:47 PM
I try to only buy tools of major manufacturers and to buy for the long term. That said, I recently bought a Harbor Freight bench top 13" d/p #13142. If it wasn't a tool that had a good reputation, both here on the Creek and on other forums, I wouldn't have given HF a second thought.

I suggest that you take a peek: heavily built, 16 speed with a low speed of 200rpm, 3/4 hp and with a 20% off coupon, I paid $159.00 at a local store.

You can also buy a one or two year service policy for about $20-32 respectively.