PDA

View Full Version : seriously stuck drive center

Chris Haas
05-06-2010, 8:00 PM
i was looking at an older general 26020 today, and came across a problem, the drive center looks like it hasnt been removed for years, and it is frozen in.

after beating the back of a makeshift knockout rod repeatedly, i still saw no progress. question is, once your convinced you cannot knock it out, what is the next step?

heating the spindle threads?
anyone ever done this?

just looking for some insight. thanks, Chris

alex carey
05-06-2010, 8:10 PM
get a bigger knockout rod.

Mike Campbell KS
05-06-2010, 8:10 PM
I've got the same situation with an old Craftsman tube lathe that wasn't used since the gentleman who owned it passed away in 1984. I want to make it into a permanent buffing station. I have tried beating it with a hammer, and soaking in penetrating oil, but nothing has worked yet.

Chris Haas
05-06-2010, 8:26 PM
Im a carpenter, and i was hitting the knockout rod with a 24 oz hammer hard, and i mean hard. so i dont think hitting harder and bigger knockout bars is the way to go, not without perminant damage that is.

Mike Golka
05-06-2010, 8:41 PM
Heat the drive center, not the spindle. This will cause the drive center to expand but because it cannot expand in all directions, the spindle prevents that, it will only expand in the direction not restrained. When it cools it will contract evenly and that should free it up. Remember the trick is to put more heat into the center than the spindle. In my trade as a welder I have used this method many times to free frozen metal items.

Robert Snowden
05-06-2010, 9:15 PM
You can also use dry ice to shrink the the drive center.I have used propane to shrink metal.

Richard Madison
05-06-2010, 9:20 PM