PDA

View Full Version : Correct sealer???

aaron muniak
05-05-2010, 3:29 AM
Hello everyone, I am wondering what type of finish sealer to use on a dinning table I am making for my sister. It is made of soft maple and I just want to make sure that I use the right stuff for the job. I am a trim carpenter and this is sort of my first of these projects. Reading through alot of the forum I see that WATERLOX comes up quite a bit...safest bet??

Cheers...
Aaron.

Joe Chritz
05-05-2010, 6:32 AM
I assume you are talking about a final finish in place of a sealer used as a barrier coat.

I highly recommend you get a copy of Flexner's finishing book and read it a couple times.

As for finishes that are wipe or brush on Waterlox original, Behlen's Rockhard and Pratt and lambert #38 are three very good ones. All go on about the same after thinning and each has a slightly different color when cured.

There isn't any "correct" one as each finish is best in certain applications. Without moving into spray finishing those three will give you great results, lots of flexibility and a huge leap over BORG poly.

Joe

Scott Holmes
05-05-2010, 6:06 PM
None of the varnishes noted need a sealer... they all are very capable of sealing the wood. What is your reason for the sealer? Did you color the wood?

aaron muniak
05-05-2010, 6:30 PM
So I guess that Ive shown that I am very new to finishing and sealer is not what i meant to say. However I have picked up some Waterlox Tung oil finish for the job. Thanks for the replies. Im sure that I will have some updates over the next few days. :)

Peace,

Aaron.

Scott Holmes
05-05-2010, 11:28 PM
We all started as rookies. If you are lucky you will learn something everyday.

Joe Chritz
05-06-2010, 8:46 AM
We all started as rookies. If you are lucky you will learn something everyday.